Welcome to Peter Harrington Books


Rare first editions, deluxe and collectible editions of books, pamphlets, and ephemera relating to music: early, classical, opera, Romantic, rock, blues, contemporary.

1 Item(s)

List Grid

Set Ascending Direction
  1. The Servants.

    The Servants.

    Opera in three acts. Libretto by Iris Murdoch, based on her play The Servants and the Snow. Music by William Mathias.
    First and limited edition, number 61 of 125 copies and signed on the limitation leaf by Iris Murdoch, William Mathias, producer Adrian Slack, conductor Anthony Hose, designers Patrick Robertson and Rosemary Vercoe. "Murdoch cut the [original] play by half for the libretto. Two of the original characters are cut... and a chorus of servants is added to reveal the servants' pain and fear giving the opera parallels to Greek tragedy. Learn More

    Date of Publication: 1980

    Published: Oxford

    Stock Code: 107955

    Signed: Yes


1 Item(s)

List Grid

Set Ascending Direction