Home » Browse » Inscribed books, signed or with letter » MURDOCH, Iris, & William Mathias. - The Servants.
return to previous page
The Servants.
  • 107955
  • 107955_1
  • 107955comp

Other Items by Murdoch, Iris

Browse more

MURDOCH, Iris, & William Mathias.

The Servants.

Opera in three acts. Libretto by Iris Murdoch, based on her play The Servants and the Snow. Music by William Mathias.

Published: Oxford: Published on behalf of the Welsh Arts Council by the Oxford University Press Music Department, 1980

Stock code: 107955

Price: £375

Free Shipping Worldwide.

This item is on show at 100 Fulham Road (map)

First and limited edition, number 61 of 125 copies and signed on the limitation leaf by Iris Murdoch, William Mathias, producer Adrian Slack, conductor Anthony Hose, designers Patrick Robertson and Rosemary Vercoe. “Murdoch cut the [original] play by half for the libretto. Two of the original characters are cut… and a chorus of servants is added to reveal the servants’ pain and fear giving the opera parallels to Greek tragedy… The Servants was first performed by Welsh National Opera at Cardiff New Theatre on September 15, 1980” (Cheryl K. Bove, Understanding Iris Murdoch, 1993, p. 162).

Quarto. Original dark red cloth spine lettered in gilt and black, pictorial boards and endpapers. Monochrome plates of a stage set, costume designs, and two pages from the original score. An excellent copy.

Don't understand our descriptions? Try reading our Glossary