*Our shops are open Monday - Saturday. Click here for more information about visiting us, and the safety measures that have been put in place.*

ALLEN, W. E. D., & Paul Muratoff.

Caucasian Battlefields. A History of the Wars on the Turco-Caucasian Border 1828-1921.

Cambridge, At the University Press, 1953 Stock Code: 85150
£650.00
Reserve Ask us a question

Notes

First edition. The work of the extraordinary scion of a theatrical family and a brilliant Russian emigré, this work was described on publication as "the most complete and authoritative study of this subject available in the English language" (Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies, XIX, 1, p206), and has recently been confirmed as "a classic study" (ODNB). Allen "was a man of many talents: a gentleman, a businessman, a philosopher, an adventurer, but continuously and most powerfully an energetic historian and linguist. He made his library, later held by the University of Indiana, the finest private collection of books on Georgia and the Caucasus in the Western world. Throughout his life he travelled extensively in remote places and may be the only person to have walked the entire length of the Turkish-Russian frontier"; an essayist, cultural historian, novelist and playwright, Muratoff was cited in Clive James' Cultural Amnesia as a prime example of "just how brilliant somebody can be and still be a forgotten man", having published an account of a tour of Italy, Obrazy italii (1911-24), "one of the most dazzling books of its type ever written. As a book on the Italian Grand Tour it not only stands directly in the tradition of Goethe, Gregorovius, Burckhardt and Arthur Symons, but it is better than any of them".

Confused? Read our glossary

Description

Octavo. Original blue buckram, title gilt to spine. In the dust jacket.

Illustrations

Frontispiece and 7 other plates, 8 folding maps, 17 full-page maps, and 14 sketch maps to the text.

Condition

Some foxing, as often, front, back, and fore-edge, ownership inscription to the front free endpaper and title page,, but a very good copy in unclipped, jacket, foxed and tanned at the spine, and internally reinforced on the folds.

DELIVERY

With the exception of framed items*, Peter Harrington offers free delivery on all UK orders of rare books, maps and prints placed through this website. Delivery to USA and the rest of the world is similarly free for orders over £200.

View Full Delivery Details

 

ABOUT US

Established in 1969, Peter Harrington is one of the leading rare book firms in the world. It is a proud member of the Antiquarian Booksellers Association – along with ILAB, the PBFA and Lapada – and from shops in Mayfair and Chelsea, London, sells rare books, prints and ephemera to customers across the world.

Email: mail@peterharrington.co.uk

Tel: +44 (0)20 7591 0220


ABA Antiquarian Bookseller Association ILAB International League of Antiquarian Booksellers LAPADA The Association of Art and Anatique Dealers PBFA Provincial Booksellers Fairs Association

Our Guarantee Page

Ask us a question

DO YOU HAVE A BOOK TO SELL?
OR
CAN’T FIND THE BOOK YOU’RE LOOKING FOR?

Contact us with details of the book you are interested in or selling and we will contact you

Sell Old Books Help me find a book